all posts post new thread

Old Forum any martial artist use the bear routine?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

lokate

Level 4 Valued Member
i am a martial artist who want to get stronger and i have read some good things about the bear routine to.

but i have read to that it is very demanding. and that you have to take rest seriously.

so i am wondering if mma and the bear routine would be a good combination because mma is off course very demanding to in combination with bag work, running etc. and if so what would be a good combination off exercises.

hope to get

If you want to focus on getting stronger, while practicing MMA, I would not recommend the bear. I gained a pretty solid amount of strength, and some mass, while on the Bear but I was crushed after 4 weeks. I would do 20 minutes of super light cardio once or twice a week, but nothing else. Some people may be able to deal with the recovery, but I know I wouldn't have been able to. IMO you'd be better off working just regular PTTP or easy strength.

Hello Andy, thanks for your reaction, I was alreday afraid that the volume would be to much.

If the chociche would be PTTP do you thnik the deadlift and sidepress is a good combination? And if you have done it yourself, do you feel it works good for overal strength? Maybay I am a little bit sceptical but it seems to simple to work, but then again, most time simple is the best.

If you have some pairs of KB's I would recommend Geoff Neupert's Kettlebell Strong. That is what I am using and feel that my strength is way up!

I have two kettlebells but not the same weights, 20 and 24 kilo.

I have read some good stuff about that programm to, its just sad that I cant find routines from that book. If you surch for other routines you can find enough but from Kettlebell Strong there is nothing to find. I find that book quit expensive, so I dont have the moeny now to order it.