all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Balancing mental energy, learning/retaining new information, and training

I think a big part of my struggle is that I want to learn things that haven’t come naturally to me in the past.
Hopefully the struggle will lead to those things coming more naturally to you! I think it will. I think back to 10 years ago when I first found this forum, how foreign the language was to me, and it was months before I had anything meaningful to contribute. Now, it does come naturally. Struggling with something new is a worthy endeavor and it will get easier as you continue to engage. I salute you! As Dory says in Finding Nimo, "Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming."

@bluejeff Oh boy do I have a lot to say about this subject. I graduated in physics a long time ago. At 52, I got back into it about 1 year ago (for fun) and can identify a lot with what you are experiencing. For context, you can have a look at my Youtube channel, @Deeperscience (shameless plug). I only have a few videos on it, as my goal is to provide insight that is not often provided, or at least to show less known approaches to many physics and related math issues. Each video requires a lot of research and some original thinking, only if to reconcile and put together many approaches to the same issue.