all posts post new thread

Old Forum Benefits of certification

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

primaliron

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi guys first time posting.

I am a young personal trainer and use kettlebells alot with my clients. I love the philosophy and have been using the RKC Strongfirst materials to guide my training for the past 3 years. Before then it was typical teenage uninformed bodybuilding. I have full intentions to get the Strongfirst KB and in the future the BB and BW to . For me to get these certifications it is a huge financial investment for me.

I would just like to hear from some of the already certified instructors what specific benefits they have recieved from the weekends and maybe some advice as to what you would do in the meantime.

Jamie, many people, including me, will tell you that the 3 days of your SFG cert will be, hands down, the best 3 days of education you've ever received.  You should go for two reasons - first, because you'll learn; second, because you'll be able to place the letters SFG after your name and that means a lot.

In the meantime, plan to take the user course, or at least plan to work with an SFG 1-on-1 periodically.

-S-

One of the huge benefits that I have had is that even in a room of other fitness professionals, just understanding the principles that StrongFirst teaches give you a very competitive base of knowledge that others just simply don't have or are really not great at relaying.

Speaking from my own personal experience, the certification weekend are called  instructors courses for a reason. We are students and teachers of strength. It shows in the way you will coach after the weekend.

I second Steve's suggestion of getting to a user coach or working with a SFG in person. Feel free to hit any of us here on this Forum or any of the SFG groups on Facebook would be a great place to connect with people as well.