all posts post new thread

Old Forum Deadlift form check

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

James Whitmore

Level 2 Valued Member
Hi everyone,

I really like deadlifting and have studied and practiced deadlifting on and off for a couple of years. Unfortunately it has been mostly off until recently so I haven't made a lot of progress in those couple of years. I started the dl again last term (I am an English teacher living in China right now) and have made a new pr of 155kg, using pttp style training. I am currently 10 kg away from a double bodyweight dl.

I have recently switched to the modified delorme workout from Beyond Bodybuilding in order to give one of my students something to do together in the gym and try to put some meat on my bones.Trying to break him of typical bodybuilding style workouts and get him deadlifting.

Anyways: Any feedback on my deadlift technique?

155 was a 10kg improvement over last term.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVC0ad_I7ps&feature=youtu.be.

Hi James!

Not at all bad - and way to go on the 2x bw pull.

A few things in no particular order:

1) Straighten your lower legs: you are going forward on the knees, and thus have to move the weight AROUND them - you can actually see this at sec:09 (think 'ski boots' and just sit back more).

2) Pack shoulders more, and pull them back -> towards your behind (not up towards your ears). Idea is to activate your lats much, much more.

3) More tightness: when you setup and just before you pull. 'Wedge' yourself in between the weight and the floor.

4) Tighten your abs and obliques. Trick: pull your rectum towards your navel. Work on 1-arm deadlifts to get to know your obliques.

5) Stand up much stronger: it should feel like a strongfirst plank when you stand up.

Best!