all posts post new thread

Old Forum Forearm hypertrophy

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Marty Lynden

Level 4 Valued Member
First post and it is one centered around vanity ( should be ashamed...). Anyway, here goes.

I have never been particularily interested in building muscle, instead my main interest has been in just getting as strong as I can and learn the skill of strenght and let the visible muscle gains come as they please.

Over all I feel this has worked out very nicely since I started training. However there is one exception. I have exceptionally skinny forearms. Being a naturally quite skinny guy weighing in at 165 at 6 feet I guess this isn´t to uncommon, however its a bit of a letdown being in your early 30s and realizing you have the forearms of a malnutrioned 16 year old girl.

So I decided I wanted to do something about it, however I quickly realized I have only a vague idea on how to proceed. Right now I am using 5 exercises in my routine. The one arm push-up, weighted pull ups, pistols and hanging leg raises. I train 5 days a week totaling a total of 10 reps a day for each of the excercises except for the swing where I usually perform one set of 25. Using this routine I am really happy with my strenght gains and recently nailed a pull up with 48 additional kilos.

But, as I said, I would out of pure vanity like to add some meat to my forearms. Also I think it will be beneficial to add some extensor work as a prehab to any elbow tendinitis that might creep up on me as I intend to start gunning for the one arm chin up.

Just not sure how I should go about adding a hypertrophy protocol for the forearms to my above routine?