all posts post new thread

Forum Business Gym owner advantages and pitfalls

Problems, Questions, Suggestions

angrod1973

Level 2 Valued Member
Elite Certified Instructor
Dear kettlebell/barbell/minimalist gym owners -

I’m a strongfirst coach struggling to find a quality gym that I align with in my area. I have the opportunity to purchase a struggling minimalist gym near me to create the environment that I’m looking for. BUT I know I have a big job ahead of me in terms of marketing, finding my people and finding quality coaches. I’m stuck in fear and focusing only on the risk at this point so seeking thoughtful advice.

To the gym owners here:
Would you choose to do it all over again? What advice do you wish you had when you first started your business? What is the secret to your success?

Thank you for any thoughtful advice you may have.

I’m not a gym owner but I genuinely hope it works for you. Quite a lot of gyms opening here now ( Aus ) despite high interest rates and inflation. I have to take anything over 24’s to my gym, 20kg seems to be the maximum unfortunately. All the best with it if you decide to do it

I’m a strongfirst coach struggling to find a quality gym that I align with in my area. I have the opportunity to purchase a struggling minimalist gym near me to create the environment that I’m looking for. BUT I know I have a big job ahead of me in terms of marketing, finding my people and finding quality coaches. I’m stuck in fear and focusing only on the risk at this point so seeking thoughtful advice.
In my area, many trainers starting out rent gym space from others. It can be a good way to build up your students before taking that next step.

-S-

Not a gym owner but I have managed a gym, and also serve as consultant for some gyms :)

Are you currently in-house at the gym you work for or are you leasing space??

How booked are your PT/semi-private sessions??