all posts post new thread

Old Forum High Blood Pressure

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

kettlebellzona

First Post
Do you have any experience or konowledge about the connection between high blood pressure and kettlebell excercises?

Thank you!

How do you mean?

Are you under treatment for high blood pressure?

I have recently realized, that I have high blood pressure ( 145/80-90 in average)

I remember that formerly I had already the same problem, but the doctor said that it is common at teenagers, so i did nothing.

Now I am an instructor and I will go to the doctor next week and really worry that the doctor will say that i need to give up kettlebell.

On the other side, i am very suspicious about the doctor's opinion.I had some back issues before I began to train kettlebell, and 2 famous hungarian doctors prohibited it to me.

I still began to train and my back is perfect!

So, I do not know whether I can believe to a doctor...

Thats why I need your opinions!

Daniel, I am not a doctor, but in my experience, very few doctors suggesting giving up exercise as a treatment for high blood pressure.  Perhaps you need a doctor who is used to treating athletes.

I suggest you ask your doctor if it's OK for you to buy a home blood pressure machine - about $50 here in the US - and take your blood pressure at home for a few weeks.   I suggest this because some people have much higher blood pressure numbers in the doctor's office than they do at home and it's good for your doctor to have as much information as possible.

Find doctors you trust and follow their advice.

Best of luck to you.

-S-