all posts post new thread

Increasing My One Arm Push Up Reps

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Adrianmata77

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello, my name is Adrián.

This log has 1 purpose, I am trying to add reps to my One Arm Push Ups.

Height: 1.73 CM /
Weight: 73 K /
Years: 28 /
One Arm Push Up Personal Record: 3

Abbreviations: OAPU: One Arm Push Up
NK: Naked Warrior Book
PR: Personal Record

Background:
I grew up in a farm. I was very physically active throughout my childhood and teenage years. I was not a sports person, though. I have never been overweight.
So far, I have been working and sitting in front of a desk for 5 years. I began to worry about my longevity 3 years ago. I started yoga, I was doing 2-3 classes per week. I did well, I started stretching at home and memorizing routines. Finally, I ran into Strongfirst and Mr. Tsatsouline's work. I bought the Naked Warrior and Super Joints books. I learned the techniques, but I overlooked the programming tips in the Naked Warrior book. I began exercising for fun, so I never even thought of the amount of sets/reps. I was thinking of feeling good, and taking care of myself only.

I will try to reach my goal by "Greasing The Groove". All this time, I have been stuck at a max of 3 OAPU's each side. I think, it happened because I used to do just regular OAPU's and Dead Start OAPU's. I did not fluctuate my OAPU training that much. From now on, I will keep track of my OAPU routines here. I will play with leverage and extra weight more often.

Cheers,
Adrián

I have been greasing the groove since 6 am.
I live in Costa Rica, so I use kilos and centimeters.
This is what I did today:

-1 rep - OAPU holding a 5 kilos rock with my free hand - the busy hand was elevated by 40 cm
-2 reps - OAPU holding a 3k rice bag - 20 cm elevation
-1 rep - dead start OAPU - ground level
-3 reps - OAPU - 20 cm elevation
-1 rep - OAPU holding a 3k rice bag - ground level