all posts post new thread

Old Forum Just finished my grueling physical test

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

guacadoggie

Level 3 Valued Member
Saturday was my Black Belt pre-test.  I've never done Crossfit before, but one of the other guys taking the test said it felt similar, just way longer (it was just over 4 hours).

We did all sorts of various bodyweight exercises along with a few medicine ball exercises.  The day started with a 1.5 mile run (not jog), as many pull-ups in two sets of 30 seconds, as many push-ups in 2 straight minutes, as many sit-ups in 2 straight minutes; then other things like burpees, mountain-climbers, planks, jump to squats, medicine ball toss, v-ups, and much more.

I feel like I fared quite well, especially compared to the rest of the people (8 of us tested).  My calves were pretty worn out, but I felt pretty good throughout the whole thing, which I attribute mostly to diet and being on my 35th week of the ROP (with weighted pull-ups).

But, nobody testing hit the minimum requirement of push-ups or sit-ups.  I did 39 perfect push-ups (according to my partner, I was the only in the room who stayed neutral, kept my arms by my side, and wasn't sagging my butt or sticking it in the air).  And 51 sit-ups (only one who went all the way to my knees).  But, 100 was the mark, and I obviously missed that by a long-shot.  After the test, I asked my instructor what a push-up looks like to him, and he showed it with his arms out, forming a "T" with his body and arms.  To me, that's incorrect form, and doesn't require you to go as far up as when your arms are tucked by your side.