all posts post new thread

Old Forum Just starting out

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

dc

Level 7 Valued Member
Hello everyone, I'm Dan from Australia 42yrs & relatively inactive for a few years. A friend gifted me pavels PTTP & ETK, a month ago when I said I needed to sort myself out. As I'm a beginner again I've been "practicing " swings,tgu & deadlifts , side presses, concentrating on form in swings, tgu & getting my full body tension right for deads & presses (as per PTTP). Iv really fallen in love with these 4 exercises, so my question is - can I do PTTP & ETK program minimum together while still a beginner? I understand as I progress this probably won't be possible, but I'm a little way off that yet(as still in practice mode). I've order s&s as well as foundation of strength DVD, so maybe it has a program including these 4 fantastic exercises together. Thanks for your time DC

Dan,

You may find your answer here: http://www.strongfirst.com/the-cost-of-adaptation/

Enjoy S&S through to the "Simple" goal and then train your DL an SP as you choose.

Shawn

Dan, welcome to StrongFirst.

I like your idea of practicing all these movements.  When you feel ready for a program, here are some things you should know, based on what materials you have.

The Program Minimum in ETK has been superseded the newer book/DVD entitled, Kettlebell Simple & Sinister.  Going from that program to the Rite of Passage in ETK is still a solid idea.  S&S is the Program Minimum revisited, changed and improved.

Both PTTP and S&S are designed to be done by themselves for a while - at least until a certain level of achievement is reached.

I recommend you purchase S&S, follow that program, reach the Simple goal that's clearly stated in it, and then come back here to plan your next move.  PTTP is another program you could start with, also designed to be done every day or nearly so.