all posts post new thread

Old Forum Pavel : Before bed stretching help

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

mendoza15

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi Pavel.I am a semi pro rugby player (speed position)who trains 4/5x week for rugby and twice in the gym using easy strength principles . In this scenario i do streching before bed and was wondering what would be optimal regarding duration of stretches (hip flexors ,hamstrings , calves ,pecs ,bi's and anything tight) ? Any suggestions are more than welcome. Thanks

Riccardo, no expertise claimed and I am not Pavel.  This is just what I do.

Stretch, as shown in Relax Into Stretch, at the end of your day but before you head off to bed.  Stretching with various contract-relax protocols and waiting out the tension can be hard work.

Immediately before bed, try some Original Strength and/or Primal Move resets.  Rocking is great, it's simple, and you can even literally do it on/in your bed before you turn out the light, as I often do.

-S-

Thanks Steve i've actually incorporated the OS resets as warmups and as grease the groove type resets during the day . . Just looking to find the most minimalist stretch exercises for after field sessions from Relax into Stretch, max 2 -4.

One of my favorite times to work on splits was 10 pm or so in the evening - when my kids were younger, this would be after they'd gone to bed, and I could read or watch television with my wife while sitting in a wait-out-the-tension side split.  Optimal duration?  Whatever it takes to get the job done.