all posts post new thread

Old Forum S&S and Weight Loss

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

PtomeDome

First Post
I have been doing the S&S for two months now and I love it.  I have never felt better.  I feel stronger and have more energy that I can ever remember.  However, I have not dropped much weight on the program.  A big part of this has been due to diet (terrible), which I have made positive changes to in the last two weeks.

Here is my question.  Is S&S good for weight loss if I need to drop about 40 pounds?  I did Skoggs a couple of years ago and lost a bunch of weight.  However, with Skoggs I did not feel as good or as strong as I do with S&S.

Yes, S&S is good as it has both strength and conditioning components. As you probably know already - diet is going to play the biggest role in weight loss.

I plan to lose about 20 pounds soon (holidays), and my plan is to kick-start it with a month of swings (10,000 swing challenge), then get back to S&S. Also, I sometimes finish my S&S workout with 50-100 more swings (2-handed).

A friend and former coach with two ABD Ph.D's in nutrition and experience coaching current athletes on Canadian olympic teams posted this to her blog over the weekend.  It's specifically about limiting carbs to post-exercise windows, but it's really one of the most comprehensive, neutral, and easy to understand posts I've read about what goes into fat loss, why limiting carbs can be helpful, why it can be harmful, etc.  People make this stuff overly complicated IMO.  It doesn't need to be.  Regular folks and elite athletes around the world have success using a variety of approaches to losing weight.

askgeorgie.com/why-limiting-carbs-to-post-workout-only-is-a-scam/

If you're in a calorie deficit, you're going to be successful.  You can be successful using some kind of shock and awe approach or something mild and sustainable over time (like S&S).  Good luck!

Is this the correct link?