all posts post new thread

Old Forum SF v. ETK ROP program

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Beowulf

Level 1 Valued Member
I have been doing the ETK Right of Passage program for several years.  I bought the simple and sinister book (it's great by the way) and was struck by the difference in the two programs.

My questions is: How do the objectives of the two programs differ?  Is SS aimed at achieving a different result that ETK?  What different results might one expect from the two systems?

(Background:  I'm 47, male, desk job, busy life. I made the 200 snatch --once-- but not the press , only pressing the 40K for one rep.)

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

I'm sure you'll get a  lot of different answers but, if I may quote Pavel, our principles don't change but our methods are always evolving - and that's your explanation right there.

S&S is a much more general program.  Pressing and snatching are more specific skills, skills with great carryover to many things, but still more specific than the swing and the getup.  S&S aims to be your foundation for almost any athletic endeavor or simply for a life well-lived.  Both programs are applications of our principles.

The changed order of exercises is much more than just that - it reflects recent research into the many beneficial effects of explosive lifting on both athleticism and body composition.  Part II of S&S talks about all these things.

I suggest you give S&S a try and plan on returning to the ROP at some point in the future - S&S could be just what you need to get you to your half bodyweight press.  Let us know how it goes for you.

-S-