all posts post new thread

Barbell SFL Preparation and Advice

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Jordan Vaughan

Level 4 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
I have finally bitten the bullet and decided to sign up for my second Strong First Certification. I have just under 6 months left to prepare. I can not wait!

I also attended a SFL day course a couple of years ago so feel like I have an okay understanding of form and technique.

I’ve been a long time Kettlebell trainee who has dabbled with the barbell. Now it has to be the other way around.

The current plan is a Reloaded Cycle for Back Squat, Deadlift, Bench Press and Military Press. One heavy day and one light day for both. In addition to this I am running a Strong Endurance 523A.

I am trying to be as deliberate with my practice as I can, training the lifts twice a week and the light day allows for skill acquisition and simply practicing the lifts - set up, lift, re rack and breathing.

I have started preparation in plenty of time as I want to own the standards. The deadlift and back squat will not be a problem as the kettlebell has set me up with a solid foundation. I can deadlift x2.5 body weight. The bench press is lagging, I haven’t trained bench press in 3-4 years so this seems foreign to me at the moment. I need to bench 95kg and I’d expect my 1 TRM to be around 80kg currently

What I am asking is what advice do you have to someone preparing for the SFL and what did your training look like for the SFL.

Thanks in advance and I hope you are all well!

Last edited:
Listen to @Anna C :)

I had to go twice to the SFL to finally validate it, and even after the second one, it took me almost the whole 6 month after the event to validate the missing lift. Everything went easy, except the bench (long arms, I don't like the lift, etc, you know the excuses...).

For what I read, you are close to be in the same situation. Easy deadlift, lagging bench.