all posts post new thread

Old Forum Swing Form Check

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Mylan Byrd

Level 4 Valued Member
I'm using a 16kg bell in this video. I've been doing S&S for a few months and I'm still working on integrating the 24kg for all 10 sets. Anyway, I wanna make sure my form is correct on my swings. What I'm most concerned about is the bottom position, making sure my hips are back enough, and the first part of the upswing when the hips first begin to propel the bell forward. Any help from any SFG's is appreciated.

http://youtu.be/80rh1v2RvhQ

Mylan,

That's not too bad.

1) your knees ride forward and do so before hip flexion.  Keep your weight back on your heels and sit back, don't squat down.  Think about reaching for the wall behind you with your rear.  The swing is mostly hip movement.

In between sets of swings, and without any weight, practice sitting back with minimal knee bend, loading your hips and hammies, and keeping the weight back on your heels.  Pause very briefly, and snap to an erect plank.  5 is a good number.

2) your KB is too light.

Looks solid, otherwise.

Thanks a lot! I appreciate it. I'll work on making those corrections and post another video soon.

Mylan,

To piggyback on what Al wrote, your knees move forward to initiate the upswing out of the hole. If you watch the video slowed down to half or quarter speed (click on the setting icon along the bottom of the video player), you will see this clearly.

Out of the bottom, you should be driving the hips forward and extending the knees. If your knees have moved forward during the downswing, they should move backward as your hips and knees extend on the upswing. Moving the knees forward on the upswing is specifically listed as a fault in the SFG swing standard.