all posts post new thread

Old Forum Turkish get up roll to elbow

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Rambro

Level 1 Valued Member
To whom it may concern,

I want to start off by professing my belief in Strongfirst. I am a law enforcement special operator with a lot of mileage, who has recently found salvation in the Strongfirst community and principles. Thanks to Pavel and all the other great coaches for sharing what they do. My ability and longevity as an operator have been improved and preserved as a result of adopting this training.  I am a huge proponent for Strongfirst within the law enforcement community, and it is catching on like wildfire, because it gets results.

Getting to the point, I am having a lot of trouble with the tgu. I got up to the 70 pretty quick and was doing great, until I realized I was rushing it. I heard someone say that if you can't do it slow you are hiding something, and I saw a lot of truth in that. Problem is, that going slow has sent my progress in reverse. I now toil endlessly with proper positioning, activation, movement, etc., and feel it has become counter productive. I am flexing down arm lat hard, extending/dorsiflexing down leg as shown. I have Pavel books and videos for reference, but am still stuck. Seeking hands on guidance from an SFG is still not a current option. Any help on proper cueing would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Justin B.

Justin, can you post a video? You'll get a lot of feedback from SFGs and other knowledgeable folks. In addition, kettlebells from the ground up is a great resource. How slow is slow for you? Sometimes I find people are exaggerating it too much, and a happy medium is the answer.