all posts post new thread

Old Forum What can I expect from about 10 weeks of the ROP?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Harry Westgate

Level 6 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
Hi everyone,

I recently purchased ETK and a 16kg and 24kg kettlebell, as I wanted to start learning the ways of the kettlebell, having built a foundation in strength training for the last 2/3 years, following primarily the Naked Warrior routine, but also PTTP from time to time.

I'm also an amateur boxer, now on the off-season until September (so no fights between now and then), and over the last 4 weeks or so I've been doing the Program Minimum (and I must say, I feel great for it, most noticeable improvements I've noticed being much more powerful glutes/hips and more ripped forearms), with a view to start on the ROP in about a week or two; I just want to get a little more comfortable performing snatches. Due to having no fights to prepare for in the near future, I should be able to strictly adhere to the ROP routine as written at least until September, after which I will probably have to shift some of the days around a bit as and when I have fights coming up (but no, I will not quit until putting up the ROP numbers!), so what I'm wondering is, what can I expect from following this program? I'm particularly curious as to what physiological changes I might experience, in terms of body composition, weight change, and so on.

As a point of reference, I'm 5'9", currently weigh 67kg, and am also trying to lose weight (ideally fat of course) gradually, with a view to get down to 64kg by February, when my university boxing championships are. Would the ROP likely help or hinder such weight loss? Or might I have to be extra cautious about my diet in order to avoid building too much muscle mass?

Any information people can provide from personal experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!