all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed New to HIIT; Need advice on hiking and visceral fat.

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)

mdavis121212

First Post
I'm new to HIIT. I've started doing Sprints and more intense weight workouts and I feel I'm seeing benefits even after only a few workouts.
I got to HIIT watching Sean O'Mara and visceral fat videos. I'm sure I have visceral fat but I also do a lot of hiking and climbing up mountains as a hobby. Climbing up 3000 feet requires me to get my heart to about 85% of max for a couple hours.
I'm thinking this endurance hiking is really bad for visceral fat so I'm wondering if I should stop hiking and concentrate on HIIT until I get rid of visceral fat.
Does hiking make visceral fat worse?
I generally hike twice a week.

I'm new to HIIT. I've started doing Sprints and more intense weight workouts and I feel I'm seeing benefits even after only a few workouts.
I got to HIIT watching Sean O'Mara and visceral fat videos. I'm sure I have visceral fat but I also do a lot of hiking and climbing up mountains as a hobby. Climbing up 3000 feet requires me to get my heart to about 85% of max for a couple hours.
I'm thinking this endurance hiking is really bad for visceral fat so I'm wondering if I should stop hiking and concentrate on HIIT until I get rid of visceral fat.
Hiking doesn't make visceral fat worse.
Processed foods, alcohol, stress, insomnia, high fasting insulin, etc. does.

Hiking does not make visceral fat worse. Eating too much does.

Thanks this is good information! I'm currently doing Keto/Carnivore which has really helped. I was concerned when Dr Sean said that running can make visceral fat worse. But I've deduced that outdoor activities like hiking and mountain biking are very beneficial. But I've inserted HIIT into my activities a couple times a week.