all posts post new thread

Old Forum Becoming Greystoke

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Greystoke

First Post
Hello Everyone,

I'm a noob to the site, but thank God I finally ended up here! I've been studying and using KB's for the good part of 2 years now and still feel so new to the most amazing tool the fitness world has seen.. So I am excited to expand my knowledge! I also have 4+ years on lifting and BW calisthenics.

I'm starting a new fitness journey, one which will take me from my current lvl, which I have dubbed "Wolflean" (It's a coined phrase from the author David Gemmell in describing his 'warrior' esque characters and something of a physique that I have strived to get these past 24 months of training) to "Greystoke".

For anyone who does not know, Greystoke is the surname of John Clayton aka Tarzan. And if you know who Tarzan is, then you know he was a BEAST!

This is the physique that I am striving for nowadays; something strong, powerful, and yet graceful at the same time. (Plus, keeping my wife googly eyed on a regular!)

I figured the way to do this would be extensive BW workouts combined with the almighty kettlebell… And then I stumbled upon StrongFirst. I instantly get excited that you guys offer a BW cert, which I will one day be taking as soon as it’s in my area. And in the description, it talks about the “power” moves with body weight:

The Push: one-arm/one-leg pushup, wall supported handstand pushup
The Pull: tactical pullup, hanging leg raise, front lever
The Squat: pistol