all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Best resource to learn how to nasal breathe by default?

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Dayz

Level 8 Valued Member
Any suggestions for books/ modalities to learn how to Nadal breathe by default? I'm new to the idea and there's so many techniques - wim hof, oxygen advantage, buyteyko etc.

Thanks so much for your advice

Old technique: Have a mouthful of water, don't swallow it. I have used this succesfully for easy runs.

Some people recommend taping your mouth at night (recommended in Oxygen Advantage).

As for systems, I like Second Wind the most (I have only used the Express online course and haven't attended the full seminar).

I haven't ascribed to a particular system other than just practicing nasal breathing. Just as strength is a skill so is nasal breathing. Regular intentional practice makes regular unintentional practice that much easier. So a few things to try are:
  • When practicing nasal breathing, keep the tongue on the roof of the mouth.
  • Lie on your back and taking 10 slow deep nasal belly breaths. Do this at least once daily if not 2-3x/daily.
  • When you're doing strength work, intentionally focus on nasal breathing.
  • When doing cardio work, if you begin to work so hard that your mouth pops open, stop and recover before continuing (with nasal breathing).
Just a personal testimony here. I thought that I was in good shape until I started practicing nasal breathing. My resting heart rate was as low as it had ever been. After beginning to practice nasal breathing for the last year+, my resting heart rate has gone down an additional 4-5 bpm. Game-changer in my opinion.