all posts post new thread

Breathwork: Buteyko, Pranayama, Wim Hof, etc

I have been doing the Wim Hof Method for over two years now. I am fortunate that I dont suffer from stress or anxiety (over and above normal levels) so cant say if it helps there. I dont feel like it has helped in any athletic sense but I was and like to think am pretty fit even before I started so maybe would help someone from a lower starting point. What it has done for me is a) it feels awesome when you do it, very trippy and relaxing and b) my immune system seems to be off the scales compared to before I started this. My wife is a teacher and I have an 8 and 9 year old so ALL illnesses come through my door, and I used to catch the lot. Now I either dont catch them at all or if on the rare occasion I do the symptoms are much much less severe to the point I hardly notice, I know I have a bug or whatever, but it just doesn't effect me and doesn't stop me going about my day normally. Is it the WHM or not, I will never know, but I will carry on with it anyway. It seems to help IMO.
How do you practice the method? Did you go trough a course, app or something else? And how many rounds?

How do you practice the method? Did you go trough a course, app or something else? And how many rounds?
There’s an app and a ton of free material on YouTube. I did both courses which I enjoyed but note my reservations in the previous post. It wasn’t what I was looking for ultimately but the courses were well structured and polished presentation

I know this is going to seem off topic but Dr. Perry Nickelston discusses a surprising connection between the tongue and fascia throughout the body (and of course the vagus nerve). Breathing exercises, particularly nasal breathing, also work to relax the tongue which explains the unreasonable effectiveness of breathing exercises.