all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Comments made by non-fitness (aka out of shape) people!

steve-in-kville

Level 5 Valued Member
Typically I just roll with stuff like this, but as of late, it's been getting more irritating. For example, I hear an older woman, not in great shape herself, go on a rant how "these kids" will pay $30/month to sweat it out in a gym, but refuse to lift a finger at home. I think that was a huge generalization.

Another time, I heard a farmer rant how people pay money to go to a fitness center, but yet he can't hire anyone to labor on his farm and milk cows.

Another, a construction foreman, basically the same as the farmer above: "No one wants to work anymore." Been hearing that one all my life!

Look, I work in a warehouse. Our order selectors, ages anywhere from 18 to 45+, guys & ladies, work their tails off. A number still hit up the gym, YMCA or have a home gym in their garage. Some go all "Mark Wahlberg" and get up at 3am to get it in before work. Others hit it right after work.

A workout session is way different than a manual labor job. To me, it's part of my therapy. I look forward to it. It's just like taking meds for depression or bipolar, except way better!

More often than not, the grumpy old people making these comment lack self esteem or are in poor health, or both.

This is all.

The one that always gets me is some variation of older people telling younger people that if they work out too hard they will "wear out their joints." For example, an older person telling me that squatting with heavy weight will give me bad knees when I am older, or that lifting heavy weights overhead will destroy my shoulders. People who make these kinds of comments typically seem like they couldn't get up and down off the floor, or lift their arms over their heads without a lot of strain.