all posts post new thread

Barbell Critique my deadlift progression: 70-85% range

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

dk

Level 4 Valued Member
Hey all,

----BACKGROUND----
It's been quite a few years since I've posted on this forum so allow me to "re-introduce myself". I'm M32/165lbs/10%BF (DXA when I weighed ~175lbs, less now probably). I've been lifting since ~2012 after a motorcycle wreck resulted in the amputation of my left leg below the knee. I don't have any medical restrictions per se though the prosthetic does somewhat limit the ROM in my knee. I've previously done PTTP around ~2013-2016 and greatly enjoyed it.

My goal is now, as before, to get stronger. Specifically, let's talk about the deadlift. My best-ever deadlift was 435lbs about 1.5 years ago. I weighed ~175lbs at the time. Since then I've moved states and changed jobs and all this fuss/stress has had me doing more of a maintenance/bodybuilding style of lifting. I've also lost ~10lbs or so. I'm quite lean and very happy with how I look but would definitely like to get back into training for strength. I'd say that my current 1RM is probably somewhere around 400lbs (last week failed at 405 though was having an off week in general, previous week did 385x3, did 405x2 successfully ~2 months ago).

----MAIN POST----

My main issue is programming my intensity. I believe that I tend to lift too heavy, too often. My previous deadlift plan had me deadlifting once per week. I would start each "cycle" at ~315lbs and add 10lbs each week until it gets too hard then try for a new 1RM every ~10-12 weeks or so. Needless to say, I would usually fail.