all posts post new thread

Dad's fighting program

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Anth

Level 4 Valued Member
Hello!
I'm totally new to training logs. if I understand it correctly, it's like a training journal that other people can comment/give advice on? If so, here I go:
About me:
6'3, 230lbs, 41 years old, 4 kids, full-time job (summers off). Decent shape but a little flabby. I love beer and eating. I train boxing and Muay Thai. I'd like to compete someday but the stars need to align in order for that to happen so we'll see. I've had success with S+S (timeless simple) and Dan John's ABC, but I am susceptible to overtraining (or underecovering) and typically end up injuring myself with minor, nagging injuries that set me back. I train 1 night a week in Muay Thai and 1 in boxing (both at a MMA gym with lots of pro and amatuer fighters). Both sessions are an hour long, at night, and range from hard drilling to sparring. They are generally pretty intense and require smart supplimenting and recovering. After reading "Strength Shortcuts" by Geoffrey Neupert, I've come up with this program.

Goal:
Right now, I'm "park bench" training: I want to use kettlebells to build general strength and resilaince for my training. I want to get at least a full year of consistent training and sparring in without getting hurt, so my goal is to simply stay consisntent and make progress (in the gym and with weight) without buring out or overtraining. All my hard sessions are a night/evening. I'm doing "strength shortcut" style kettlebell workouts in order to be able to make progress and recover.

Eventually, I hope to evolve this into a bus bench program with more specific weight goals. Here is is:

• Monday:
    • AM TGU X 4 (weightless)
    • PM Muay Thai
  • Tuesday:
    • AM hanging
    • PM *armor building x 5 E2MO2M (double 20k)
  • Wednesday:
    • AM rest
    • PM TGU X 6 sets (16/24k)
  • Thursday:
    • AM rest