all posts post new thread

Old Forum Fat loss OR mass gain vs. Fat loss AND mass gain

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

DM 1234

I'm 175cm @ 70kg / ~15% BF (from 84kg with 23%)... I would like to be at around 75kg / 10-12%.

My question is, do I have to "firstly" focus on bringing the body fat down then start working on gaining lean mass or can the two be done in parallel? Or perhaps the focus should be on establishing a basic level of strength and not worry too much about body fat or gaining mass for now?

Bought my first KB in Feb-2013, I have no background in sports or strength training, following the PM / ROP programs since Mar-2013. I plan to move to double KBs once I complete the ROP (targeting Mar-2014).

Nutrition wise I'm doing ~20 hours controlled fasts daily and having a meal of mostly protein and fat at night with very little in the way of carbs (which incidentally led to the discovery that I have wheat/gluten intolerance)... I largely avoid sugars other than perhaps a cheat day at the weekend.

Any feedback / suggestions / advice / help will be most welcome.

No background in sports or strength training, and 23% bf... I would say those are the main factors here. Simultaneous fat loss and muscle gain will probably occur, at least for a while, if you work hard.

I agree with Aris.

I would keep your mind on the goal of increasing your strength.

And your high rep pulls will burn fat, the extra muscle from your grinds will build muscle and help your metabolism increase as your building more muscle, thus burning fat. Plus extra strength, extra weight lifted equals extra muscle gains.

Thanks for your replies, it affirms what my thinking was tending towards. Also writing the above post made me think the matter with more clarity.