all posts post new thread

Old Forum Greasing the Groove and Running PR's

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

23rdwave

Level 5 Valued Member
After 4 weeks of bodyweight exercises (one-arm push up progressions, pistol squat progressions, fighter pull ups, toes to the bar leg raises), kettlebell swings and rack carries using Dan John's 40-Day Program (don't worry Dan advises that 20 days may be all you need but 80 would not be a bad idea either) I began using the grease the groove method with handstands, one-arm push ups, pistols and one-arm chin progressions. I have been using GTG as my preferred training method for the last 3 years. Before I had a 32kg kettlebell and had completed the Rite of Passage with the 24kg, I gtg'd kb clean and presses using both one ladder to 3 (1 x 1,2,3) and 3 ladders to 3 (3 x 1,2,3). It was not long before I could clean and press the 24kg for over 100 reps a day 4 days a week. But primarily I have used it with bodyweight exercises and especially pullups. Today I gtg'd fighter pull ups (20 x 6), one arm push ups (10 x 1/1) and pistols (5 x 3/3).