all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Homeostasis - breaking it

SAME. Girl Scout cookies, man... They should list calories by the box because that's the serving size for me.

It's why logging EVERY SINGLE THING THAT GOES IN YOUR MOUTH is important.
I’m a sucker for a bowl of corn flakes… or bowls… mm or jiffy cornbread. Make that, put it in milk, and that whole box is gone.

Not a diet or nutrition expert here, but I am a medical professional so I give lots of low key weight loss advice to patients with problems that can be improved by shedding a few pounds so have a bit of experience about some things, and these are the first things I tell people to do:

1) Make the easy wins first: stop fizzy drinks, don't snack between meals, cut out cakes, biscuits and crisps.
2) Make small easy improvements to your diet: cut down on fast food, switch out poor quality ready made meals for better ones.
3) Cut out sugar in tea and coffee.
4) Don't buy it, if it's not in the house you can't eat it.

Once they're done and settled in for a few months I'd think about the more complex stuff like meal composition etc.

As mentioned a food diary is highly recommended. IME people often massively misunderestimate how much they actually eat and the calorie content of it.

As an example I was eating a breakfast of oats, some seeds & nuts, oat or rice milk, a bit of yoghurt and a piece of fruit a good few years ago. Very healthy I thought (and it kind of is...) but one bored day I worked out the calories and it was about 1000! Now I eat a meal of 400cals every day for breakfast, and it has meant the weight has stayed off me as I get older (52 last week) compared to many of my peers.

Also, 4 weeks isn't very long, on't get demoralised, keep at it!

Last edited:
, I was talking to a nutritionist in the pub ( of course) and she believes gut health/ unprocessed natural food sources is far more important than cico,
Calories In, Calories Out

As per, ...

Calories in/out can’t be beat