all posts post new thread

Old Forum Hypertrophy for over 50?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Steve A

Level 6 Valued Member
Hello All, have been lifting for a long time and have maintained decent strength (SQ > 2x BW for reps, BP = 1.5 BW, DL > 2.5 BW for reps) for a very long time. But I've never done a real hypertrophy routine and am motivated to try one now.

I'm attracted to the Pins to Pillars, Modified DeLorme, 10 x 5 types of approaches. But before I start something like that, thought it prudent to ask if there are any suggested modifications for the over 50 lifter (and admittedly probably not willing to do force feeding multiple times a day lifter)? Reps, sets, frequency, anything? Thanks for any suggestions.

Steve

That didn't come out quite right and I can't figure out the edit function. I've never tried a volume routine before.

You got a decent strength basis so you should be ok. Go easy and see how you feel.  If the extra volume and shorter rest periods cause problems back off.

The Bear routine from Power to the People. But using Deadlift and Bench could be a good option Also.

The most recent article on T-Nation of Dan John's:  http://www.t-nation.com/training/9-tips-for-dedicated-lifters

From the article:
"Here's what you need to know..."
•  The only real secret to adding muscle to your whole body is this: do high rep squats.

try (2-3-5) ladders with an 8 rep max and add some weight every rung. That should give you a nice blend of strength and size.

Steve, just pick a program and try it.  My observation (I'm several months shy of 60) is that my recovery isn't what it used to be.  E.g., on a recent trip through a program, I did OK until the final week or two, at which point I added several extra rest days, and I skipped the final workout entirely.  The program was meet preparation/peaking and it worked very well for me as I did it.