all posts post new thread

Old Forum Introduction

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

NCmedic

Level 2 Valued Member
Hello,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I have been following Strongfirst closely for about a year but I finally decided to "join" the community and discussions.

I'm a paramedic with the goal of getting strong to help me do my job and maintain a healthier, more resilient lifestyle.

I've been doing a ROP/S&S combo for the past 6 months with lots of growing in between.

When I started doing TGUs, I was doing them with 16kg KBs. Now I'm working on 5 sets of perfect TGUs with a 32 kg.

My presses started with a 24 kg ladder and I'm working on the 28 kg. At first, I couldn't dream of pressing a 32 with my left arm but I can get it two times after several months of ROP. I'm working on nailing the snatch test with a 16 before moving up to the 24 kg, I hope to have my OAP up to 1/2 my bodyweight soon so I can continue to progress and challenge myself with new goals.
My short term goals are to press 1/2 BW, complete snatch test with 16, and nail the "Simple" part of S&S.

My long term goals are to "tame the Beast", nail the "Sinister" part of S&S and to obtain a SFG certification. Thanks for everything guys and I look forward to growing strong with everyone!

Tyler, welcome aboard.

If you're doing getups with a 32 and press ladders with a 28, there's no way you should be working on the snatch test with a 16 - get someone to help you with your technique and get at it with a 24.  I have a hard time imagining someone doing press ladders with a 28 who can't just do the snatch test with the 16 kg on zero snatch training.

Not trying to give you a hard time here, just suggesting that the disparity in weight, at least on the surface of things, suggests you might be missing something technical in your kettlebell snatch form.

-S-

Steve --