all posts post new thread

Old Forum Joint Mobility Warm-up Routine

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

jpk

Level 1 Valued Member
Does anyone recommend a good joint mobility warm up routine?  I would like advice on a warm up program that is not very long and then maybe a more detailed version on non Strength training days.

Would you recommend buying the book or is there a free alternative such as you tube videos etc?

Check out "Maxwell's Daily Dozen", I've been doing a variation of it for the last 5+ years.  Mike Mahler has a mobility video out there as well that is pretty similar to Steve Maxwell's.  Both were good templates to get started and I customized my mobility routine along the way to hit certain tight spots.

I like flexible steel which is rehashed Super joints with some nice extra for aiming to do the splits.

James,

I have see Maxwell's Daily Dozen but the only sites I could find that have it show poor picture illustrations of the movements.  Do you know of a video out there that illustrates better?  Would like the link to Mahler's if you have it also.

Thanks!

Personally I like Scott Sonnons Intuflow. I have a few different mobility programs, but I feel like his is the most complete and well thought out.

As far as a quick warmup, I got some advice to do 50 reps of Cuban rotations with 2.5 to 5lb, my shoulders have never felt better. I added internal external rotations in various planes and various hinge movements. To be honest, I almost think I felt better just with the Cuban rotates for 50x no weight, 50x 2.5lbs, and 50x 5lbs.

I started doing something similar with my legs and they feel great.

MovNat's Vic Verdier has a very nice 10 part series on mobility drills

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=JFKlymvaXIA

BTW, I think Scott put his joint mobility videos online for free, its progressive, you increase complexity as you go along.