all posts post new thread

Old Forum KB press problem > winging scapula

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Eric Killin

Level 1 Valued Member
I have been working with kettlebells for a few years now, but one thing has always plagued me, a winging scapula in the racked position.  It gets worse as the bell gets heavier.  In the top position my scap position is fine but I cannot seem to get it in the racked position.  Also, it is far worse on my right side compared to the left.

When I do bottoms up presses it seems to get better but my focus right now is the ETK program and my shoulders can only handle so much with pressing three days a week so adding in bottoms up presses as a warm up is as far as I have gone for implementation.

I have played around with various corrective exercises that don't seem to cut it.   Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

I tried that today before my arm bars - what a difference! And I have been doing arm bars for years. Great video.

Here is a vid from Super D.  Donnie Thompson.  It's got more stuff from a couple years ago including that KB shoulder drill Kelly shows.  Great for setting that shoulder back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFrXXc3spaM#t=140

Scott and Michael,

Thank you both so much for the videos they both look very promising and I can't wait to try them out tomorrow prior to my presses!! I will comment again after tomorrow's workout and let you know how it goes.

Thanks guys

I did both the band work and the K Star work for my shoulders and the winging was virtually gone today. I couldn't believe how simple and easy the fix was. These will be staples of my warm ups prior to pressing from now on.