all posts post new thread

Old Forum Kettlebells for Youth Athletic Development

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

AllHartKB7

First Post
Hello everyone!  I am a sports performance coach that caters to ages 8+ (mostly with ages 12+).  I have a B.Sc. in Exercise Science, through which I had invested time in a dual internship.  One part of the internship was spent with the strength and conditioning staff at my university, and the other part was spent in the pediatrics sports medicine department of a local hospital.  Overall, it provided me with some great insight in to what should and should not be done at certain age ranges, due to growth and development of the skeletal system.  By that, I mean that I am a firm believer that resistance training is a MUST for our youth, but it needs to be done properly.  Non-machine based (for the most part) strength movements that lend themselves to developing balance, strength, coordination, and transfer into the lives of these young individuals while they play their sports.

Enter, the kettlebell...

I have been using the kettlebell to instruct 'grinder' movements to my young athletes, and have been witnessing some great success.  Who would have known, lighter weight, better instruction, and gradually building up the intensity of their exercise regimens has been beneficial in their training for sports.

So here is my question.   How many of this StrongFirst community utilize kettlebell training with a youth population on a regular basis?  Do you stick to grinder movements, or do you also instruct the ballistic movements?  When do you begin teaching them the ballistic movements if you do use them (based on what parameters? Age, gender, movement ability, etc.)

Just looking for some feedback!  I look forward to hearing from this community.

Hi Ryan,