all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Kettlebells Reps and Sets

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

msuwendy

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi im new to kettlebell here, just wodering how to plan the kettlebell workout? is it always be like a giant sets 3-4 sets no break in between or the progression set or the classic weight training sets?

is the reps effect the same with the weights? for instance 1-5 mostly for power, 6-10 for muscle building, 10-20 hypetrophy (i know its not proven yet but i've been using that simple guide for a while)

sorry if i repost this topic

thanks

The rule of thumb for kettlebell ballistic exercises (swings, cleans, snatches) is to multiply the reps per set by 1.5-2 when compared to grinds (presses, squats, deadlifts) to achieve the same effect. For instance, the ideal strength/power building range seems to be 2-10 instead of 1-5. the reason is a single ballistic rep typically has less time under tension than a grind rep. There's a lot of ways to go about it all, based on your goals. A lot of people in this neck of the woods, myself included, are proponents of doing shorter sets (5-10 reps) that preserve maximal power production, and then adjusting the rest periods to get more of a strength/power effect or conditioning effect. But there are also plenty of people who prefer sport style training, doing sets that last up to 10 minutes or so. I hope this helps a little, I know I didn't really give you a solid answer o_O

There are some great books out there that explain things better. My favorites are "Simple and Sinister" and "Enter the Kettlebell," both by Pavel Tsatsouline and both available on Kindle for pretty cheap.

If you are new to kettlebells keep the rep ranges low, moderate sets, and longer rests while learning the movements. This manages CNS fatigue and keep the movements technically solid. When you become proficient start to challenge yourself.