all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Level 1 Cert challenge - success!

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

jyork

Level 1 Valued Member
I've posted a bit before - this will be my longest post.

Background: 50 y.o. male, 5'11, 165 lbs. I first picked up a kettlebell 3 years ago trying to get stronger for mountain biking. I've followed a variety of programs - Bike James (RKC mountain bike coach), Geoff Neupert, Pat Flynn, RoP, S&S. I've attended the one day StrongFirst KB course. I also had the good fortune to spend a couple hours with Dan John in his garage gym. I decided this year that since I turned 50, the SFG Level 1 cert would be a good challenge.

Prep: I've been working consistently with kettlebells for almost 3 years. 4 months before the cert I started the Brett Jones prep program based on the 20 kg snatch test bell (a perk of turning 50). I completed that program and for the 7 weeks before the cert I switched to Dan John's Peaking and Assessment for SFG Preparation program (you can find it on the forum - essentially RoP with an extra snatch day and double KB work).

Results: Simply a great weekend in Philly with Phil Scarito and crew. The training I had done gave me enough of a base that it was a challenging but not crushing weekend. I had enough in the tank to absorb the lessons and make a variety of needed changes to my techniques on the big 6. I passed the technique tests and did 100 snatches in 4:24 and am now a new SFG1 Instructor.

Final thoughts: It was worth every minute it - and by that I mean the preparation and the weekend. It is nice to be part of the SFG community. Do the work. Trust the process. Show up and rock and roll.