all posts post new thread

PlanStrong/BuiltStrong Lifts less than 70% - Do You Use, and Why?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Steve Freides

Staff
Senior Certified Instructor Emeritus
Elite Certified Instructor
I notice that many of the programs in the PlanStrong manual use lifts in the 60% range.

Anyone _not_ programming these lifts, and simply keeping everything at 70% and above? I'm doing a PlanStrong kettlebell press cycle now and my lowest weight is 75%.

-S-

Last edited:
I wrote a barbell military press program for an SFG I train with to get her ready for the SFL coming up in a couple weeks. I am still learning with this stuff, but I will let you know how it turns out. I used 70% and above.

@Jody Beasley, thank you.

I find even a 75% weight almost too light. Perhaps it's years of pressing heavier, but I am using a 75% weight in my current cycle and regularly doing 5- and 6-rep sets with it because the guidance in the manual is 3-6 reps for that weight. I needed it because my next weight is 85% and I didn't want an 85% HARI, but the next time around, I'm considering bumping up the HARI and see how it feels. I've been sticking pretty close to 80%.

-S-

"I find even a 75% weight almost too light." Ahhhh, that's the beauty of it...it's supposed to feel light. If too many weights are between 75% and 90%, you might hit your HARI but you'll lose out on the critical variability aspect...hence the need for a 70% ish and even a 95% ish. Not totally dissimilar to the ROP, when the ladders started at 1 rep for a given kettlebell weight. That one felt super easy. Needed it to boost the variability of intensity.

Ahhhh, that's the beauty of it...it's supposed to feel light.
An interesting and a good point, @Martine Kerr.