all posts post new thread

Old Forum Military press and pecs

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

IvanK

Level 2 Valued Member
Hi all
I'm new to the forum and kettlebell training. I've been reading Pavel stuff for quite e while now and I'm studying S&S to start the program minimum. In the meanwhile i'm doing chinups and kettlebell military presses. The question is: do the pecs work on military presses? I'd like to avoid too much different exercises but I want them to be complete before I start the S&S program.

Thanks!

Ok thanks! I had the doubt because if you search on the internet a lot of people say that military press doesn't grow chest.

No, your pecs do not receive significant work when doing a strict military press.  If building strength in your pecs is your main goal than the bench press is the lift you want to be doing.  However, the over head press is a great exercise, and it builds strength that is very applicable to sports and everyday life.

Well it's not my main goal but I don't want to overlook anything (besides my chest is pretty weak)

To quote Dan John: "think movements, not muscles". Do you need to include a pressing movement? Yes. Can the getup or military press satisfy that role? Yes. Do you need to "work your chest"? No, not unless your goal is to be a bodybuilder.

S&S is complete as it is; I strongly recommend you do the program as written, add nothing else unless it's playing a sport or doing a martial art or something like that, until you get to the simple goals. Then, you can reevaluate from there. If you actually do the program as written, you can probably achieve this within a few months, which is not much time at all.