all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Modifying S&S because of limited access to kettlebell

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Prince.OG

Level 1 Valued Member
Long story short, I'm stuck with access to only one 48KG kettlebell. I've been doing S&S on and off for 6 months and can handle 32kg one-arm swings followed by 40kg TGUs.

I can do some sets of TGU with the 48 KG and swings they are what they are ... hard.

How can I modify the routine and still not lose the rhythm with this beast ?

Thanks,
Prince

you say you can manage some sets of TGUs with the 48 - great - do those - and for swings stick with 2H swings with the 48 for 10 sets of 10. I dont believe you are losing anything if you can manage 2 or 3 getups per side with the 48 - it's more demanding than doing 5 sets per side with the 32 and equally demanding as doing 5 per side with the 40. Getting back to 2H swings for a while until you can regain access to your 32 and 40, will not hurt your progress with one hand swings. If this doesn't feel like "enough" add a few suitcase carries per side and you will be sufficiently worked.

Just step back a little in the progressions. Swings are easy enough. The goal of S&S is 10 x 10 one handed in 5 minus, but you don't start there or stay there. If I remember right the progression starts at 5x5 2 handed with no timelimit. I'd suggest start there with the 48 and build up. With getups how about progress through partials. E.g if you can do 1 good get ups on both sides.
Sets R and L
1 - Up to elbow
2 - Up to sitting
3 - Full getup
4 - Up to sitting
5 - Up to elbow

If those jumps are too steep you can always progress with pauses.

Hope that helps.