all posts post new thread

Old Forum power to the people good for mma?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

lokate

Level 4 Valued Member
i am a martial artist and have surched  a long time for a good solid strenght routine.

i dont have hours a day to train so when i train i want to use that time for training martial arts. to me a'simple workout would be great, but would it be enough?

Have you read Easy Strength? In it Dan John highlights a program for MMA using the PTTP template. Now I'm not a fighter, and I haven't trained fighters using PTTP, but I would recommend it, for sure, for what it's worth.

Wim you are starting to be a little like a troll with the same repetitive question over and over. You pop up in most interesting threads and ask the same question about what might be good for a martial artist. Have you yet trained any of the recommended plans you have seen or been given for more than month without deviation? If not, start there.

As a martial artist you should well know about the importance of actually training.  Pick a program, PTTP, Easy Strength, the recend Dan John one you spoke up in, the one that I told you is successful at my MA club, the PM, or any other one that doesn't have too many components and train it.

All the theory in the world doesn't mean sh#t if you don't do the work.

Hey Richard, yuo are right, I havent stick to any programm for so long. I know I have to.

Its just that I have practice martial arts for 35 years now, so I know how to train martial arts.

But then I read all these forums on Internet about supplementary training, strengthtraniing etc. I never have done that, just the normal push-ups, pull-ups etc.

Deep in my heart I know I am a good martial artist true all my years off training, maybay I dont need all these supplementary training and just do what I always have done, train martial arts hard, do some push-ups, pull-ups, dips and run sprints a few times a week.