all posts post new thread

Old Forum Press at top of get up

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

NJRick

Level 3 Valued Member
I've been experimenting with my version of the program minimum in which I add a press to the top of my get ups, once I can do my get ups slow and controlled for 20 minutes with a given kettlebell. I feel that this will give me greater strength gains than get ups alone, and will help me progress to the getting up with the next bell.  Has anyone ever trained this way? What are your thoughts?

Thank you

I'm not a KB expert and I don't play one on tv but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night AND I read some Pavel Tsatsouline books while there.  I think what you are planning on doing may be TOO much. Remember Pavel talks about not being worn out after a strength training practice session.

If you still feel refreshed or energized afterwards then you should be okay. I'm 39 and I felt worn out just reading your plan LOL.

Press at every position in the Get Up. Do overhead squats at the top of the Get Up. Do 5 snatches at the top of your Get up. Do your Get Up bottoms up. Do your Get Ups on the ground. Do your Get Ups all around.

Do your getups on a box. Do your getups with a fox.

Really though - I've considered pressing at each stopping point as well, but my shoulder won't have it (old injury).

I've also thought about an overhead squat at the top, and also a windmill at the top.

All that said, I'm still just doing regular getups at this point though.

while I did laugh when I read about doing a press at every stage, I've felt adding a little press helped me transition from the 24 kg to the 32kg but hey, maybe it was placebo

Is your goal to move up to a heavier bell for getups or or to press a heavier bell?

RIck,