all posts post new thread

Old Forum Pressing Power

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

xjwestx

Level 1 Valued Member
I am simply amazed by the effectivness of ladders and ROP. In March 2012 I started training for RKC 1 and I decided to use a 32kg for the ROP (which I couldnt even press until I read ETK). By Sept 2012 RKC, I PR pressed 44kg. Once I got back from RKC, I took almost 2 months off (getting caught up on business, that fell behind due to RKC prep). Now back to it training for the Beast challenge Week 1 could do 40kg C&P 1 L/R (because my 40kg handle is 2x thick as DD KB) and start of week 3 already can C&P 40kg (thick handle) 3x L/R! Does everyone else find ladders to be the most effective way to increase pressing power?

James - Pavel and I were talking about this at the Level 2 last weekend about this and he stated that he has yet to meet one person who has not done the ROP or ROTK as written who failed to get noticeably stronger.

I personally love the simple brilliance / brilliant simplicity of ladders: like daily mini-cycles, which of course, is what they're intended to be.

Geoff

My 2-cents-worth on this:

With everything this good, there are often several levels of goodness in there. :)  IMHO, the background of the Light/Medium/Heavy rotation is the tried-and-true part of the ROP - it's been working for lots of people for a long time.

The brilliant thing is that, on top of the Light/Medium/Heavy weekly schedule, you have ladders which almost magically allow you to accumulate a lot of volume without minding it too much - constant variety of the number of reps in a set, different rest periods between rungs than between ladders, etc.   Geoff's "daily mini-cycle" - great way to say it.