all posts post new thread

Barbell Program Advice

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

SOSSF

First Post
Hey Everyone,

I'm looking to get a consistent program going but am struggling to find the right fit and would love some input. My profession is very competitive and mentally demanding, and I need to be as fresh as possible to both study and compete. At the same time I've let my strength training take a major backseat and I'd like to start working towards improving that again.

I'm 36 years old, 5'10", 165 lbs, and did a couple years of competitive olympic weightlifting on my college team then transitioned away towards more "endurance" type activities (high amounts of hiking, swimming, climbing, etc) after college until the past year or so. My recent lifting has been mostly the traditional moderate volume, 8-12 rep type stuff but often just program hopping.

My DL is probably around 1.5x, bench 1x, squat somewhere inbetween, and I would really like to work towards getting those up to the 2.5x, 1.5x, 2x range. I've considered PTTP, the Faleev Program, or something similar to the 40 day workout/easy strength, or even just sticking to the 8-12 range and being more consistent with linear progression. I'm sure all roads lead to Rome to a certain extent, but the wrinkle that's tripping me up a bit is finding a path that allows me to maintain my freshness outside the gym on a consistent basis. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

SOSSF,