all posts post new thread

Old Forum Programming

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

halskov

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello strong people

I am 35 and started training a couple of years ago. Multi joint barbell exercises. I have little understanding of programming so I have done different protocols recommended by Rippetoe, Dan john, Wendler and so on and of course they have worked when followed to the letter. But I want to understand the thinking behind programming. Set and rep schemes, volume - intensity relationship, concepts of fatigue, training frequency, exercise cycling and such. I read several articles everyday but I am not experienced or clever enough to deduce what's crap and what is not. It seems as if it's always 'do this, not that' and the next day 'do that, not this' and I am just not capable of discarding the bullshit. I am from Denmark and we have absolutely no training culture at all. The equivalent to Planet Fitness is almost all there is and HIT training is all the rave here now.