all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Resting heart rate

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

thegoldengod

Level 5 Valued Member
I’m male, 33 years old, 5’11, 175lb

Training with KBs since early 2016. I practice s&s daily, with the occasional variety day mixed in.

I have been using an Apple Watch to monitor my heart rate for the last 2 years and have noticed that my resting heart rate used to be ~55bpm and nowadays consistently around 48-50bpm.

I am wondering if daily s&s with improved nutrition (?) attributed towards this.

Nothing scientific, just an observation.

Has anyone else seen improved resting HR?

I don’t have a “before” to compare RHR, but a common result of endurance training is lowered RHR as the heart becomes stronger and more efficient. S&S has an endurance component.

I have begun tracking my resting heart rate again, and I have found very similar results, I am currently averaging 53bpm first thing in the morning. I have not done any other physical training besides S&S since January of this year, I fully attribute the decrease in resting heart rate to it.

I have heard that if your RHR gets elevated +10 or so in a short timeframe (a few days or a week) it is a sign of overtraining/under-recovery. Is that accurate?

I'd be interested to know as well!

Aside from feeling overtrained -- one data point I am trying to track/correlate is heart rate variability upon waking. I know that its very subjective, and not even entirely accurate w/ an Apple Watch (vs. other methods) -- but I have noticed that on days where I had poor sleep my variability # was much lower than average. I still train based on feeling vs. data, but something I've been trying to collect for a while now, with hopes of being able to glean something one day.

What does overtraining feel like to me?

1. My grip is usually shot and swings/snatches aren't crisp