all posts post new thread

Old Forum Rite Of Passage

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

StrengthIsLife1989

Level 4 Valued Member
I'm sure this has been beaten to death. I have been training with kettle bells for a couple of years now and have put off the rite of passage program in favor of fancier programs (I know terrible) I am going to start ROP this coming Monday. One simple question. Do I use a different bell for the different days in terms of clean and press. I can clean and press the 32kg bell for 8 reps. Should I use a heavier bell for the program or should I use a 24kg bell on light day a 28kg bell on medium and the 32kg bell for heavy days? Or use the 32kg bell for the whole program? I do apologize if this has been asked before but I am new to the forum. Thanks everyone!

Hello Jeff.  You use the same weight until you are able to complete 5 ladders of 5 reps with that weight.  Then you move up to a heavier bell.  The light, medium, and heavy days do not relate to the weight, but the number of reps  you do for each day.  I do not have the book in front of me, but I believe on medium days you complete 1 less rep per ladder.  On easy days you complete 2 less reps per ladder.

Jeff, if you don't have the book, get the book - this and many other of your questions are answered there.

-S-

Jeff - In ETK check out page 134.

Hope it helps and stick with it! That program never stops delivering a hefty dose of STRONG

Use the kb that you can consecutively press 5-8 times for all of your practices. Being that you can already do 8, you'll probably advance to the 40 sooner than if you could only do 5. Only on your variety days should you practice loaded cleans with a heavier bell. Good luck.