all posts post new thread

Old Forum S&S and jumping rope?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

BoBandy69

Level 1 Valued Member
hey everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone has had any success combining S&S with a jump rope routine? And if so, how often/how long did you find worked best? I have been doing S&S for 10 months now, and am currently using the 32kg exclusively and working on compressing the rest periods. I can do swings with the 32 in 6'30" and the get ups in 11'. I'm looking to improve my conditioning with the jump rope without interferring with my S&S training. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!

I would do Jump Ropes, or whatever kind of conditioning, before doing strength work.

I'm guessing you want to be able to do the swings in 5 minutes and the get ups in 10?

i often use the jump rope as active rest between sets of swings - i find it works really well - 10 1H swings - 30sec jump rope - repeat for 10 sets.

I would be interested to know as well. Marchese, that is pretty beastly. I wouldn't think jumping rope would be considered active rest. Especially between kettlebell swings. :)

You can jump quite slowly or crazy fast and do double even triple jumps so maybe maybe if someone were in really excellent aerobic condition... But to me jumping rope is not active rest but just plain active!

jumping rope is like many other exercises where you can regulate the intensity - i use an easy skip - I'm not doing double unders or trying to spin the rope as fast as possible during this time - not doing any trick, high knee or running type of steps - it's just a simple skip which you get use to pretty quickly - it's certainly not beastly and it's as active as a slow jog up and down a football field - which i believe was the recommended active rest between sets in ETK - try it - you might be surprised.