all posts post new thread

Kettlebell S&S and Repetitive Motion

L5S1

Level 2 Valued Member
I’m a 40 year old male who has been working on S&S every day for 1 year. I am currently up to 28kg all sets with 2nd set step loaded to 32kg.

I have been getting a crick behind my right shoulder blade I associate with tingling down my right arm which seems to have gotten better from doing shoulder stretches backwards. Next, I most recently have been getting a muscle cramp over my ribs in the middle of my back on the left side. I associate this with setting at work as I am an operator at a power plant. When I stand it seems to calm down.

Today, my chiropractor, a hard core power lifting fitness girl, told me I should take 3 months off from S&S because she is concerned about repetitive motion causing these issues. I really wanted to get to 32kg for all sets which I had hoped to reach by late August/ early September and then move to all S&S 32kg 3x/week and start working at the Axe program.

What do y’all think?

What do y’all think?
I would listen to your chiropractor. You could maintain your gains with the program's minimum. Two days of swings and 2 days of get ups, 5 minutes of each exercise. Do some iron cardio or Armor building complex. Or barbell work. I bet if you worked on your deadlift for a bit, you would come back in 3 months swinging 32kg pretty easily.

Last edited:
Today, my chiropractor, a hard core power lifting fitness girl, told me I should take 3 months off from S&S because she is concerned about repetitive motion causing these issues.