all posts post new thread

Old Forum S&S and Running

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

DavThew

Level 6 Valued Member
I've been training using S&S for a few months now, and I'm slowly approaching the sinister goals (I'm at 40kg with most of my sets.) I've just started training for a half marathon in 6 months time and feel like the almost daily heavy swings aren't going to give me adequate recovery time.

Most of my work to get towards the sinister goals is going to have to be on my get-ups due a recent shoulder injury (now fully recovered) which has left me with less upper body strength than before.

My current goals are a half marathon in less than 2 hours and completion of sinister goals (I'm in no rush to get to these though). Does anyone have any training schedule advice to avoid burning out?

Thanks

David - I think less is more applies to running more so than it does to strength training. There is a dogmatic approach in the running community that to be a better runner you must do a) a long stready run b) a tempo run c) hill runs each week. If you check out any 1/2 marathon training guide it will feature something along those lines. This is fine if you are strong, and you are, and you are a good runner, by that I mean you have good technique and can run well without causing yourself chronic injury due to bad form and poor running mechanics. If you clock up the miles on a weekly basis and you run with any dysfunction then you are doomed if you follow this model.