all posts post new thread

Old Forum S&S goals by age/weight

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Mark K

First Post
I've been following S&S for 5 weeks now.  I can perform my getups with a 24 consistenly within 10 minutes.  Single hand swings are now breaking 7 minutes and improving.  I'm thinking about progress in the next several weeks and would like to get opinions on a weight increment.  I'm 51 and weigh 150.  Is it reasonable to attempt moving from the 24 to the 32 or am I likely to run into trouble based on my size?  I've read S&S pretty thoroughly as well as the forums for the past month.  I think I know the answer but am looking for reassurance. 

Mark

I’m also new to S&S and from what I’ve read, you should be working in the 32 for your get-ups and maybe your swings.....

the swings and TGUs don't have to be the same weight or progress at the same pace.

Mark, you might not progress as quickly as those younger and heavier than you, but as long as you take your time you should be fine with the 32. Make sure you do it one rep at a time, don't focus on the clock, and take steps back when needed.

I know about a dozen men 10-20 pounds lighter than you, all of whom progressed from the 24 to the 32 with no issues. Totally doable, just make sure you own the level you're at first, and follow Andy's advice above.

I'm 43 and weigh 152. I just got a 32 last month and have been working it in. I was about where you are with the 24. I'm currently using the 32 for two sets of swings and two sets of TGUs. I'll probably stay at this point for several more workouts, as it's pretty tough, and I have a lot of stress at home right now.

I thought I would never even need to buy a 32, and now I have one and am using it. I'm in no rush, and hope to be using it exclusively for all sets in the next 4-6 months, if not sooner.