all posts post new thread

Old Forum S&S: TGU's progressing much faster than swings

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

rickyw

Level 7 Valued Member
I have been doing S&S for a few months now, about 4 times a week. My TGUs have started to really progress much faster than my swings (still working with 24kg on swings) and I will likely be able to comfortably pass the simple TGU goals within the next three weeks. This actually surprises me because I am more of an ectomorph. I am really trying to be patient with my swings as per Pavel's instructions instead of toasting myself trying to hit 5 minutes.

My question is, once I reach the simple TGU goals, should I progress to a heavier bell or start working on the clean and press section of ROP? I have S&S on audio, can't remember if Pavel mentioned anything about this, he might have.

I am hoping to eventually work through the progression Dan John wrote about here: http://www.strongfirst.com/things-are-going-so-well-help-me-screw-it-up-part-2/, hence the desire to start clean and press for ROP.

Any help is greatly appreciated. And for the record, kettlebells are the best fitness tool that I have ever been introduced to. So glad I found all this.

I was stuck on my swings until I re-read the "speed endurance" and "hardstyle laziness" chapters of Simple & Sinister.

With swings, the details really matter.

Also, forget about the time goals for a few weeks. Just take as much time as you need with the swings. Then test yourself again and see how you do.

Thank you,

I actually haven't tested myself per say with swings, just keeping an eye on the clock to gauge progress. If I remember the idea is to build power endurance via the aerobic system instead of using glycolysis, yes? Therefore, hitting the 5 minute mark should be something that can be done easily and over and over because the aerobic/ATP-PC systems are conditioned properly, not from burning out while testing.