all posts post new thread

Old Forum sample military pt program

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Bennythepenny96

First Post
Hi all,

I was wondering if people could critic this program I found for improving pt scores and becoming stronger in the field. I am a ROTC Army cadet and I want to have a program that I can stick to for a while, keep improving my pt scores, become stronger for when I am in the field, and also save time because I am a student and I have to study sometimes! Here is a link to the program. http://www.dragondoor.com/articles/kettlebells-for-maxing-military-physical-fitness-tests/

I have already maxed the pt test with 78 pushups, 80 situps and a 12:45 2 mile run but that was because I only trained for the pt test. I am still a very slow sprinter and rucking is harder than it should be. I feel like adding in kettlebells will help to solve this problem. I also would want to gtg pushups, pullups and pistol squats throughout the day, run 3-4 times a week before kettle bells, and do an ab workout that ive been having a lot of fun with and progressing with.

Thanks for your help,

-Jack

That looks like a very serious program.  And the author has some awesome credentials.

But I bet most people can't start with a program like that.  I'm not sure where you are in your current training, but even scaling the weight back on the program you referenced would be a big challenge.  I also question jump squats with two kettlebells of any weight, let alone double 32's.

Of course, it might work really well for you.  You won't know until you try it.

If it were me, though, I'd go for something much simpler.  I like Al's training program for the soldier:

http://www.strongfirst.com/hardening-the-soldier-for-combat/

It's got all the main movements you need with no extra fluff.  And that means you could GTG your bodyweight stuff and keep your PT numbers up.